Shaken and Stirred Mag

An online magazine for 21st centurians.

Recipe: Beef Burgers

Here’s one thing you may not know about me – despite the fact that I’m far from being a domestic goddess, I absolutely love cooking. 
Bibi Burgers
Serves: 4

This is a very simple recipe I have come up with for fast, delicious and fairly healthy grilled burgers. For lack of a better name, I just called them “Bibi” burgers – this is the silly name which many of my friends call me. Fairly egocentric… as if you didn’t know that about me already 😉

Ingredients:

Burgers
  • 450g / 1 lb. ground meat (I used a mixture of beef and pork)
  • 1/2 red bell pepper
  • 1 onion (can use red or white)
  • 1 tsp. sweet paprika
  • 1 tsp. spicy paprika
  • 2 tbsp. breadcrumbs 
  • pepper and salt to taste
  • olive oil (any frying oil will do)

    + a grill (can use an oven)

The rest:
  • 1 tomato
  • 1/2 lime (or lemon)
  • 4 pickles
  • 4 burger buns
  • 4 strips of bacon
  • 50g / 0.1 lb Gouda cheese
  • Dijon mustard
  • mayonnaise
  • dill-mustard sauce

Here are the ingredients patiently waiting to be abused by me.

Hello, onion! Hello, pepper! I am about to chop you to pieces. Sorry!


Just a quick post-massacre picture! Are you finding my directions easy to follow? What is that – no? Fine. First we chop the onion and the pepper. Then we add sweet paprika, spicy paprika, salt and pepper to the ground meat. 

Take the chopped peppers and onions and put them in a pan. Add olive oil and a dash of salt. Cook the living hell out of them them till they’re soft over medium heat. Then add them to the ground meat along with 2 tbsp of breadcrumbs. Assemble into little patties and cook those on the grill for about 4 minutes – keep checking, grills are really unpredictable (can you tell I’m a real professional?)

 While the peppers&onions are cooking, slice up the tomatoes and the pickles and shred your cheese.

Also – the photo I took was awful, so you’ll just have to imagine it – put your four strips of bacon on the pan where you were cooking the peppers&onions and cook to taste.

After the burger patties are done, quickly put your (burger) buns on the grill. I am only showing you a half of the buns, because I’m a secretive bitch.

Spread the dill mustard sauce (you literally can’t taste the dill in the IKEA version of it, which is a plus if you hate dill – yet want to eat dill sauce – like me) on one bun and finish it off with some lime juice. Then put mayonnaise and Dijon mustard on the other bun. I will have to stop talking about buns, it’s making me uncomfortable.

Add the shredded cheese, tomatoes, pickles, the burger patties and – of course – the bacon. Not sure why I refused to include bacon in my pictures, it’s quite photogenic.
Feel free to decorate the plates with some green stuff if you’re a fearless bastard like me. I chose rocket salad and cherry tomatoes with some Thousand Islands dressing. Fuck yeah. Finished result:

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 13, 2013 by .

Navigation

